Garlic Sriracha Savoriness

It was that kind of lazy but also invigorating evening last night when I wanted to make something fun and summery, yet at the same time didn’t want to do a. single. thing. Two days straight of yard work and baking in preparation for a graduation party will do that to you. We had just grilled sirloin the previous night, rubbed with Spiceologist’s Pink Peppercorn Lemon Thyme, and it was perfectly cooked with bright pink still in the middle. This is the best way to enjoy steak because there are options for leftovers–just a little warming and you’ll still have some pink.

After pouring through my two favorite summer cookbooks for a recipe or just inspiration, I realized how much fatigue had set in and my thoughts diverted to Rocket Alley’s turkey bacon ranch wrap, and the half-pound of bacon I had leftover from breakfast with the manchild; I’ve made this wrap several times, and it’s easy. One problem:  no sliced turkey breast. Okay, scrap that. Wrap version two:  BLTA wrap. One problem: no avocado (well, at least no ripe avocado, but I *DO* have three permanently unripe avocados in my fridge, purchased from Costco a month ago, so basically no avocados). Then back to the steak…I could chop that and do some sort of wrap.

But here’s the thing about wraps. They have to have the right portions of each ingredient and a great sauce. And for the life of me, I couldn’t think of a great sauce. Even after looking up steak wrap recipes on Pinterest. But somehow, it came to me. These things happen once in a while, and it’s really strange. Like a meteor bursting across the sky–a bright flash, then gone again as quickly, even if you’re really paying attention. I had BF mayo, Johnny’s garlic spread powder from Costco, plain yogurt and Sriracha. Wow.

mayo

The wrap was amazing, and my thoughts were spinning with all the options: Garlic Sriracha Steak Wrap, Garlic Sriracha Steak Grinder, Steak Salad with Garlic Sriracha dressing, my ridiculous Southwest Chicken Nachos with Garlic Sriracha sauce. Think Bubba’s great line from Forrest Gump:  “Dey’s uh, shrimp-kabobs, shrimp creole, shrimp gumbo. Pan fried, deep fried, stir-fried.” So so many options!

I’m doing this as a bookmark in my life so I can remember this great sauce in a year when I’m trying to think of something to make on a hot summer night and all I want is a sofa, my baby, some Big Bang Theory and a great, easy, savory steak wrap.

Garlic Sriracha Sauce

1/2 c. BF mayonnaise (always BF, as my mom used to say)
1/3 c. plain greek yogurt
2 tsp. Johnny’s Garlic Spread seasoning powder
2-3 tsp. Sriracha

Leave a Reply

