Beef flautas with leftover fun stuff.

Another clean-out-the-fridge Sunday finding quinoa with cumin and oregano, sliced steak, and black beans (slowly prepared from dry) along with always-on-hand feta and canned, fire-roasted tomatoes. Huge batch of inner-goodness. That’s what it amounted to. Now for filling the tortillas and toasting in a pan.

Clean-out-the-fridge days are interesting because they force me to think without a recipe. They force me to think about how I will put together all the weird shit into one dish. My sister-in-law, Jennifer, is the queen of cooking without a recipe. Always delicious. Always with what’s-on-hand. I’m the recipe girl lacking confidence, and most importantly, having lacked the necessity of cooking on the fly because I live close to a market and don’t have the experience of living in Mali for two years serving in the Peace Corps. My sister-in-law is a saint from every angle, and has strong skills in making something from very little. I admire her.

Here’s the deal–

1 c. spicy quinoa
1 c. black beans (canned or prepared from dry)
2 c. cooked, chopped steak
1 can fire-roasted tomatoes
Juice of one lime
Oregano, cumin, smoked paprika and adobo seasoning, to taste
1/2 to 3/4 c. feta as desired
Onions & roasted bell peppers if desired
Flour tortillas

And the result? Wow. Very much like Emeril’s Beef Flautas without all the intense, time-consuming prep (because I’ve done that, love those flautas, but no longer want to spend that much time). With avocado and plain yogurt, of course. And to serve on the side:  homemade creamed corn from last summer, thanks to my lessons from Nana Porter, my son’s great grandmother. Slow-cooked corn with cream, garlic, salt & pepper. The perfect side.

Leave a Reply

