Lemon-thyme Sea Salt

In December, when I was on my annual girls’ weekend with Kelly, I stumbled on a Lemon-thyme Sea Salt at the Cheesemonger when I visited there to purchase raclette and other cheeses for our annual holiday fondue night with our kids. I had seen other spice blends at Red Rooster, and actually purchased one, but at $13-$18 each, I wasn’t in the mood to but more than one. And I thought, how hard would it be to make my own salt blend? I searched around on the internet to identify some processes I knew I wanted to use, but I didn’t find exactly the recipe I wanted. Nevertheless, it turned out perfectly, and I included it in the holiday gift bags I make annually for friends, along with my Rosemary-infused Olive Oil. As with the olive oil, it’s really about experimenting with quantities until you reach the levels your like. So simple!

Lemon-thyme Sea Salt

Ingredients:

A bunch of fresh thyme leaves
Zest of a couple of lemons
Fine sea salt (some recipes call for coarse, but I like fine)

Directions:

  1. Put all into a food processor and pulse several times until the thyme and lemon zest is fine.
  2. Spread-out onto a baking sheet (not greased) and bake on 225 for a couple of hours. This dries the mixture, which allows it to last several months. After a couple of hours, let it cool completely.
  3. Remove back into the food processor and pulse again to break up the salt. Pour into pretty jars. I love the 6-oz hex jars that I found on Amazon:

hexjars

Voilà!

One thought on “Lemon-thyme Sea Salt

Leave a Reply

