Beef and Portobello Stroganoff?

Here were my questions…

  • What do I do with all these holiday leftovers?
  • Second, do I have the time (yes, and this requires it!)?
  • Finally, what kind of flavor, texture & intensity do I want?

Here were my dilemmas…

First, I had leftover, rare (beautifully rare) prime rib from holiday dinner #1 with kiddos (close to New Year…I seriously didn’t keep meat that long). I also had sliced sirloin from New Year’s Eve, along with portobello that was to go along with the Chinoise that night, but that was forgotten amidst the bubbly… Oh, and of course I had onions…always onions. Leftover, I mean.

Second, I have time, but do I really want to spend that much time in the kitchen after days of cooking? (prime rib night, fondue night, tapas New Years).

Finally, (this is the “what kind of flavor…” bit)…I wanted really rich, comforting flavor. Intense, rich, and intensely rich. And that takes, ahem, time.

What to make, what to make. Oh, can’t you substitute portobello for beef because of texture? (did I hear this somewhere?) And I need to find recipes…the result a convergence of a traditional beef stroganoff recipe and (of course) a vegetarian portobello mushroom stroganoff recipe, is what emerged.

Which leads me to Beef and Portobello Stroganoff and the question–why isn’t this recipe already on the web? Because I’m no genius.

I’m going to throw out the ingredients in somewhat of an order and of course they should be jumbled about until you figure it out. (Remember, they’re all “abouts”.)

1-1.5 lb combination of thinly-sliced sirloin, uncooked, or rare-to-med-rare-cooked prime rib. If using raw meat, heat a skillet to med-high, add olive oil, roll around the pan and let sit for 30 seconds, add steak and scatter. Sauté turning occasionally until pink in center of slices. Remove to a bowl.
**If using rare or med-rare prime rib, cut into slices & set aside in a bowl–
do not cook more.

1/2 onion (red or yellow), sautéed in olive oil, then set aside in a bowl

2 sliced portobellos (and I also halved the slices so they were closer to the size of the meat),sautéed in olive oil until brown and tender, then added to the onions

3 T dijon

1 c. plain, greek yogurt

1/2 cup good, red wine (shitty wine, shitty food)

4 c. good (or better, which is not as high as good, but available in Arington, WA) beef broth

3-4 T butter

3 T flour

A few sprigs of fresh thyme

Two bay leaves

many pours of good, seasoned olive oil (see mine)

kosher salt, coarsely ground pepper

plenty of shredded parmesan (I know…not standard)

1 box of pasta noodles–your choice

Instructions

For sauce, in a wide saucepan or skillet, melt butter, then whisk in flour until slightly browned. Add in red wine, 2 c. beef broth, fresh thyme and bay leaf. Simmer for 15 minutes or so until thickened whisking occasionally. I like my sauces thick so I let this go a while. When it is very thick, add 2 c. more beef broth, bring to a low boil, then simmer and thicken a bit more (not so much this time). After you’ve got it the consistency you like, whisk in dijon and plain greek yogurt. Season with salt and pepper to taste. I’m addicted to adding my Lemon-Rosemary Sea Salt to EVERYTHING.

While preparing the sauce, boil the pasta–any noodles you like. I rotate through bowtie, penne and mostaccioli. This is a heavy sauce, so you can go for a heavy pasta.

When the sauce & pasta are ready, remove the thyme and bay leaves, then add the meat, mushrooms and onions.

Dish up some pasta, top with stroganoff, and sprinkle with parmesan.
(then pour a glass of red, pop in a movie & cozy-up…that’s what we did)

(Original draft date:  1/2/2017)

Leave a Reply

