Saucy, sauceless Chicken Enchiladas

Another much-needed comfort food night with nothing on the menu. I’ve been dragging my feet…underperforming…slacking, as you might say, as the chief menu-planner, food-shopper, chef, mom. For many years, I have tried, off & on, to create a monthly menu with variety that utilizes what’s in the freezer. Lately, I’m lucky if I have a menu for the week that accomplishes the same job. I have a funny story about my ex-husband…20 years ago, when I would create a monthly menu, then want to go out to eat on, let’s say, Wednesday, out of sheer exhaustion, he would (having no contributions to dinner whatsoever, whenever), look at the menu, stab his finger on the paper, and say, “I want THAT!” Good times.

At any rate, my mind ran through the previous several days’ offerings and decided that it was time for Mexican food, but I knew I didn’t have a package of enchilada seasoning for sauce. I contemplated the meat in the freezer, the produce in the fridge, and the array of stir-fry dishes I could concoct. I settled on enchiladas, but I knew I wanted little sauce, nothing red, but something very creamy. Voilà, the Saucey, Sauceless Chicken Enchiladas…

  • 10 corn tortillas
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1 4-oz can fire-roasted chilis, diced
  • 1/2 roasted red-pepper, diced
  • 3/4 c. chopped cilantro
  • oregano
  • cumin
  • powdered garlic
  • powdered onion
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/2 c. Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 c. Mozarella cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 c. Cotija cheese, crumbled
  • Whipping cream

The directions…

Oven to 350.

Mix 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper together, then dust the chicken with the mixture–half of the mixture on each side. Bake approx. 20 minutes until done….test with a knife (there should be no pink in the middle and the juices should run clear). Remove from oven, cool about 15 min, then shred with a fork. Place in a bowl.

Add to the bowl with chicken the diced jalapenos, diced roasted bell pepper, 1/2 c. of the chopped cilantro, another 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1/4 tsp. oregano, salt & pepper to taste. Add 1/2 of the cheese and about 1/2 -3/4 c. whipping cream. Mix together.

Warm the tortillas on a non-stick skilled with olive-oil cooking spray, flipping halfway through, until warm & soft. Place about 1/2 c. mix down the center of the tortilla, fold sides in, and place seam-side down in an 8×8 baking dish. Repeat with remaining tortillas.

Sprinkle remaining cheese on top of enchiladas, then evenly pour 1/2-3/4 c. whipping cream over the top.

Bake about 20 min until slightly golden brown.

Serve with remaining chopped cilantro, seeded, chopped tomatoes, diced avocado and sour cream (of course!). Oh, and a Margarita with a wedge of lime…. Now THESE are good times.

Leave a Reply

