Husband sorts the recipes

My husband is absolutely adorable. The CDs are in alpha order. He would like to tackle the bookcases and the spices, but he’s forbidden. My books and spices are in genre or thematic order. I want pumpkin spice next to paprika even less than I want coriander next to cream of tartar. I don’t want THE POISONWOOD BIBLE next to PALESTINE…one is realistic/historical fiction and the other is expository, non-fiction.

It’s amazing how differently we organize things…put them into what we deem are their “places.” This is why my husband was soooooo excited, this evening, when I implied that my 8.5″ x 11″ pages of printed recipes from Food Network, allrecipes.com, friends, etc., needed organizing. “Whoa!” he exclaimed. Now, my recipes are sitting in piles on the kitchen table.

The discussion that ensued following his exclamation involved HOW to organize. He started alphabetically, but I told him that I would never be able to find Aloo Gobi Masala, Cauliflower and Potato Curry (an Indian dish), under “A.” I’m sure, if I’m looking for Indian recipes, I wouldn’t even THINK of the name of this dish. I need to search according to cuisine. Beef Flautas with Black Bean Puree, Roasted Pepper Salsa and Cilantro-Tequila Cream, Mexican. Coconut Cream Pound Cake, dessert.

My Longaberger recipe basket includes the recipe dividers giving me the categories, but I’ve expanded beyond those. I want more categories than “meat,” “sides,” “salads.” I intentionally cook ethnically diverse meals; I want my categories to reflect my interests.

This makes me think about organization and interpretation…and how different we all think about our books, our spices and our recipes. Organize in a way that makes you feel like you’re at home with your reading and your recipes. Love the texts and textures in your life. Be organized, puh-leeeze (really, please be organized)!!!! But be yourself in the process.

Leave a Reply

