To die for Thai!

It’s winter…in Washington. I’m cold and wet and tired and in great need of comfort food. Meatloaf doesn’t cut it with the kiddos in this house, even though I’ve definitely enjoyed it from time-to-time. Tonight, the comfort food on the menu is Chicken Curry…the recipe from Thai:  the Essence of Cooking.

I’ve done Chicken Curry, and overdone Chicken Curry. And I’ve done eating it, and I’ve eaten it overdone. Hmmmm…. Even Rachel Ray has tried to pull this one off in a 30-Minute Meal.

But this is such an amazing Thai cookbook because it provides a cook’s flyover of Thai history, traditional behaviors, regional understanding, “The Five Flavors” (salty, sweet, sour, bitter & hot), eating customs, markets, festivals & celebrations, and most importantly, the makings of a “Thai kitchen.” The ingredients, scents and flavors are out of this world.

So, despite the fact that it’s a school night; my tweenish students were crazy in the classroom, today; my own teenagers have stacks of homework; and my husband’s got the youngest at basketball practice, I’m going to pull this one off in style. After a trip to Uwajimaya this weekend, I’m armed with coconut cream, Kaffir lime leaves and lemon grass along with the trusty Safeway’s yellow onion, garlic and Greek yogurt.

And, WOW. This dish is sooooo aromatic…the scents so pungent. Lime, lemon, cilantro, garlic, coconut. Bliss… I’ve gotta end this, now.

Leave a Reply

