Vege…what?

Okay, I’ve got to admit that I completely have missed…or assiduously avoided…the vegetarian/vegan/no protein boom. I LOVE meat. Especially pork. Love, luv, LOVE it! But we’re back on the “Flat Belly Diet,” and I’m scrambling for recipes that use ingredients I have on hand…a necessary reality following the holiday blowout. So, when I stumbled upon “Penne with Tomatoes, Olives, and Capers,” in Healthy Everyday Food, then scanned my pantry & fridge, I realized it was a MUST. Capers from Costco…seriously? I have about 100 times as many capers as I’ve used in my entire lifetime. Obviously, my recipe searches for the next couple of months need to include capers on the ingredient list. But I digress.

Back to the vegetarian meal because, really, it was totally vegetarian. No italian sausage. No chicken. No shrimp. Can you believe it? But here’s what I discovered. I can eat vegetarian if I get to sit at the kitchen island with a cordial of Ouzo and watch my husband make dinner. What a delicious experience. I would say goodbye to meat for a year. Well, that’s an exaggeration, but I would say goodbye for a few days, at least, to watch my man serve it up. Right on, baby!

Leave a Reply

