Wow.

Wow. That’s the ultimate, immature, middle-schooler word this year..and perhaps last year, I don’ t know. I think it means something between, “I’m immature,” and “I don’t think that’s fair, but I’m not at a rational age to say anything…well…rational.” Perhaps the two are interchangeable. I’ve had several girls say, brown-noser-ishly, “you’re my favorite teacher Ms. Lima.” But today, it felt different, as another student said to me, while completing the entry task, “Ms. Lima, has anyone ever told you you’re a good teacher?” Realize that there’s no eye-to-eye contact, here. I responded, “Hmmmm…is that a compliment?” With a brief shrug, and a “maybe” in response, we concluded the conversation. Wow.

Leave a Reply

